Like An Angel Came I Down and Like An Angel I Did See

After senseless slaughter and insensate greed kill the love each of us is born with, there will still, with each new birth, once again be this:

“How like an Angel came I down! How bright are all things here! When first among His works I did appear, how their glory did me crown! The world resembled his Eternity, in which my soul did walk; and every thing that I did see did with me talk. The skies in their magnificence, the lively, lovely air, Oh how divine, how soft, how sweet, how fair! The stars did entertain my sense, and all the works of God, so bright and sure, so rich and great did seem, as if they ever must endure in my esteem. Harsh ,ragged objects were concealed, oppression, tears and cries, sins, griefs, complaints, dissension, weeping eyes were hid, and only things revealed which heavenly spirits and the angels prize. The state of innocence and bliss, not trades and poverties, did fill my sense. The streets were paved with golden stones, the boys and girls were mine, oh,how did all their lovely faces shine! The sons of men were holy ones, in joy and beauty they appeared to me, and every thing which here I found, while like an angel I did see,  adorned the ground. Cursed and contrived proprieties, with envy, avarice and fraud, those fiends that spoil even Paradise, flew from the splendor of mine eyes, and so did hedges, ditches, limits, bounds. I dreamed nothing of those, but wandered over all men’s grounds and found repose. Proprieties themselves were mine, and hedges ornaments; walls, boxes, coffers, and their rich contents did not divide my joys, but all combine. Clothes, ribbons, jewels, laces, I esteemed my joys by other worn: for me they all to wear them seemed when I was born.”

– Thomas Traherne (1636-1674)

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

