No Comment

I’ve just read Maureen Dowd’s New York Times piece on the November elections and the ignorance of the hard right Republicans. Dowd, sprinkling her usual humor and lightness over significant material, seemed to be moving steadily towards the big elephant-in-the-room questions. But just when I thought here they come, she swerved away and nailed another guppy. Dowd noted all the correct things: The heartlessness and utter lack of knowledge of the far right. Click.  The weirdness of the Tea Party. Click. The “nutters” in the Republican Party who want to take us back to 1750 — or earlier. Click.

Dowd worries that Christine O’Donnell, a profoundly ignorant, mean spirited Republican Senate candidate from Delaware, could actually be voted into office. But she doesn’t worry about why voters may vote for O’Donnell. It’s the questions Dowd doesn’t ask that fill me with foreboding. So I started to post a Comment. But they weren’t accepting any more Comments. Thus it is that my Comment has become a blog. Here are the climactic sentences. “There are questions that Dowd remains oblivious to. She fears people voting for a woman who thinks global warming is a hoax and evolution a myth. A woman who doesn’t understand why, if evolution is true, monkeys can’t turn into people right before her eyes. But what Dowd doesn’t wonder about is why, when ignoramuses reveal their ignorance, anyone would vote for them.  What is the reason that people do not find Christine O’Donnell profoundly uneducated, perhaps wacko? How is it that they can take her seriously, let alone vote for her? Those are the unasked questions. To me they are the most worrying ones. Mr. Ordinary American Citizen has the answer to those unasked questions. This is what he said:  ‘“I am Mr. Ordinary American Citizen. You may think me stupid.  But I am far more stupid than you think.’”

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

