That Presidential Plank

A: What was that slogan, that plank, that presidential candidates ran on for a while?
B: Plank? What was that?
A: It was in vogue for a couple of campaigns. I never heard it again. War and peace? Law and something?
B: Law and order.
A: Right. What ever happened to that?
B: Someone was elected and the other wasn’t.
A: Which one was for law and order?
B: I don’t know. The United States is an orderly country anyway.
A: It didn’t need order?
B: It has order.
A: Why did the guy say he was for law and order if it was already orderly?
B: You can never have enough order.
A: Did anyone put things in order?
B: They are just in order. Of course there is the most order when there are shortages. Then you get order by arranging who gets what. It’s harder to have order when there are no shortages because then you don’t get to arrange. Maybe there was a shortage of something when those guys ran.
A: Bingo! Wasn’t oil short? The First Gulf war?
B: There was no oil shortage in the First Gulf War. That was just about killing.
A: Hmmm. I thought it was about oil.
B: Oil was 1972.  It was called the Oil Shock.
A: Right!  Great memory! Remember that?
B: Do I remember! Absolutely.  Sometimes oil still gets a little short.
A: There you go.
B: But heck, we can handle a lot of shortages. Wars too. That’s how we keep being orderly.
A: Love it!
B: You betcha.
A: Out on the edge you can see all kinds of things you can’t see from the center.
B: Huh?

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

