One Good Man and True

I’ve been thinking about the lawyer Arthur Kinoy, a main figure in my post on the Rosenbergs, and how he was able throughout his life to be as interested in being true to himself and his standards and values as others are interested in entertainment, celebrities and consuming.

I found a tribute to him written by Ted Glick in 2003, the year he died. This is part of it:
“Arthur Kinoy was a revolutionary, in the very best sense of the term, in the tradition of Tom Paine, Frederick Douglass, Harriett Tubman, Eugene Debs, Martin Luther King, Jr. and many millions of others down through history.” (I’m not sure about the ‘millions.’)

“Arthur was deeply convinced that there was no hope for real change in U.S. society until a broadly-based “mass party of the people” was formed that could challenge the corporate domination of government and the economy. He had no illusions about the Democratic Party. He believed deep in his bones that it was absolutely essential, a strategic necessity, that there be a genuine people’s alternative developed to the two parties of capitalism. He was constantly talking about the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party of the 1960’s as an example of the kind of alternative political movement needed.”

It made me think of “that holy frame of mind which it is the slow tendency of the world to silently counteract.”

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

