What Is Happening Is Not Happening

There was a moment when Mubarak didn’t have to go. Then there was a moment when nothing could have enabled him to stay. Both moments passed. Mubarak may be reasoning: just keep on going in the daily routine, take pictures of the new cabinet in their businessman uniforms, order the army not to kill the protesters,  collect the garbage. Maybe Mubarak has been advised that if he does nothing – (a nothing that is a doing) the protesters will get exhausted and the fire will just trail off, slowly die for lack of fuel. The thinking: If Mubarak doesn’t respond, if he acts as though what is happening is not happening, there can be no reaction to his non-response. It’s a bad, snaky thought, but it’s got me very worried. I thought yesterday (Monday) would be the day Mubarak left. And also the day ElBaradei made another move, instead of lapsing again into eerie silence.

I still think that, as everything continues to shake and shudder, one man – it could still be ElBaradei- could push it over the top, get rid of Mubarak and break Egypt free into newness and liberation from bondage.

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

