AMERICAN TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH DOES NOT TORTURE

I told the AT&T cell phone man that I  was a loyal brave and true customer of AT&T, which has been loyal and good and true to me. I appreciated its efforts- often unsuccessful –  to give me good service and its complete success in sending my monthly bill on time. I felt cared about. And when I died I wanted people to know I had been faithful to AT&T for over 300 years.

I told him that I had heard a rumor that loyal brave and true AT&T customers who were over two days late in paying their bills were being abducted by AT&T customer- service-department people. The customer-service-department people had been given the legal authority to do this by having a legal authority magic wand waved over them. The  AT&T customers were then flown to Poland and tortured until they paid their bill.
I asked the AT&T man if this rumor was correct.
“No, Ma’m, it’s not. AT&T doesn’t torture.”
“I heard that it used to be Egypt that they sent the folks to, but that changed two weeks ago after the revolution and now folks in arrears get sent to Poland.”
“There is no way you could be sent to Poland for not paying your bill, Ma’m.”
“Maybe it’s Lithuania.”
‘No, Ma’m. AT&T doesn’t torture.”
“No torture?”
“There ain’t no way that could happen, Ma’m. Ain’t ever happened. Ain’t ever gonna happen. Ain’t means ain’t.”
“That’s good to know,” I said. “Not being tortured can be a great comfort.”
“A truer word was never spoken, Ma’m. Have I resolved all your issues?”
“Just one more. Have you had other calls about this?”
“About what?”
“About AT&T torturing its customers.”
The AT&T man asked if I could hold for a few minutes while he spoke with his supervisor.
“My supervisor can confirm that we have received other calls.”
“And. . . ?”
“I could explain more to you Ma’m, but I am not allowed to because it would violate your privacy.”
My privacy?”
“Yes, Ma’m. If the enemy is being aided, AT&T protects its customers.”
“Who is the enemy?”
“I can confirm that AT&T protects its customers, but I can’t explain more without violating your privacy. Have I resolved all your issues, Ma’m?”
“Unreservedly.”
“You have a good day now, Ma’m. Oops, I mean evening. It’s six here.”
“You too. Oops. It’s three here. Day.”

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

