DON’T LOOK SO DEEP

I usually get some nice person sitting opposite me on the train to Baltimore, and the slim young man  certainly was. He was a little short, maybe 5 and a half feet or so but what he lacked in feet he made up for in eyes. He had eyes that looked into your soul; at least they looked into mine.
I fished around in my bag.
“Would you like an apple?”
He grabbed it and took a ravenous bite.
“What are you thinking about? Sex?”
So naturally I slowly unbuttoned my blouse.
He kept going avidly at the apple, and I caressed my throat. My throat is the nicest part of me.
“About the revolution,” I said.
“Good,” he said.
“You think so?”
He placed the apple on a plate and I slid my blouse off my shoulder. He lit a cigarette with a big cigarette lighter and then blew out the flame with his mouth rather than snapping the top on it with his hand.
“How vulgar,” I said. I meant to say “ostentatious” but “vulgar” came out instead.
He stared again into my soul.
“When I was 12,” he said, “I smashed a vase over my father’s head and killed him.”
“Don’t look so deep into my eyes,” I said.
“At 16,  I was the leader of a gang. One day we killed a guy who was sitting on a bench with a girl. We threw a nectarine down on him from a hill. It splattered all over his coat. He came up the hill and started screaming at us. So we went for him and he just keeled over.”
He looked deep into my eyes. I looked deep into his and touched my throat.
“You know, with brass knuckles. And then he was dead. Just kicked the bucket.”
Somebody behind me said,” I think this country is on its last legs.” That was I. That was me.

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

