IN KOSOVO A STATELY PLEASURE DOME

It was raining and drizzling here in New York City.
What can I do for you?
I’m here for my flu shot.
Sorry, no more flu vaccine.
But your office called and confirmed my appointment. They didn’t say there was no more flu vaccine.
I see that you were here 6 months ago for a check up. I can give you a check-up.
I don’t want a check-up. I want a flu shot.
I just told you there’s no more. If you don’t want a check-up, call and schedule an appointment when there’s vaccine.
No one called to tell me there’s no more vaccine.
There’s no more. If you don’t want a check-up, then go.
You are being rude and disrespectful.
You
are being disrespectful. Get outta here.
How dare you talk to me that way?
You are being disrespectful. I don’t want to see you any more. Go! Get out!

Now I must go to Camp Bondsteel on a regional stability visit to get my flu shot.  Camp Bondsteel is in Kosovo. Kosovo is in Serbia. Kosovo is a colony of the United States. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Did you see something terrible?
Terrible?
Is something wrong?
No, no, I’m fine. It’s you. You need a flu shot.
Yes. I am going to Camp Bondsteel , the biggest base in the United States’ military empire. We’ve got over 700 of them around the world.
How did that happen?
Yes. Camp Bondsteel has amazing medical facilities with flu shots galore and 955 acres with eight-foot high concrete walls, and three gyms and two recreation centers, a Burger King, two chapels, sewage lagoons,  and its own fire station and military police station, two cappuccino bars, two massage parlors employing mostly Thai women who conduct various massages regulated by military police, and colleges, 2 Dominic’s Pizza pizzerias, one Tom’s Pizza pizzeria, day care centers, correspondence courses, guidance counselors, local vendors selling pictures of corpses and softball and football fields. And more. More galore.

Remember when you get home to close your drapes and swag while you make your reservations.
Sometimes I feel I have lost everything.
Pavilion is a nice word.
Yes it is.
We’re jackasses. People can do anything they want with us.
That’s what you said.
And it’s true.
Yonder is a nice word too.

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Serbia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

