QUESTIONS TO JOB AND THE WHITENESS OF LOVE

God was figuring out how to snap Job in the back of the head. He wanted to teach the guy a lesson, just for the fun of it, but Job kept. . . . . . . . God simply had to figure out how he was going to snap Job’s head, permanently scar him. And he did. God figured it out. And he went ahead and did it. He really circulated Job.
Then he said, “Job, I’m not giving you a hard time for the fun of it. Did you lose your heart in nature?”
“I met a woman.”
“Because if you did, that’s fine and dandy.”
“And I fell in love with her. But after I fell in love, I only saw her three more times. Something happened. She wouldn’t talk to me when I called.”
“Do you think for one minute that I’m enjoying your pain?”
“I pictured her behind my eyes all day. But she wouldn’t talk to me. She’d only see me when she wanted money. And that was OK. It was even terrific. She’d call from time to time and ask for money and tell me where to meet her with the money. And I was proud to be able to give it to her. She’d blow me a kiss and I’d puff up with happiness, thinking the next time she’ll give me a real kiss. Then I lost all my money and couldn’t give her any more when she called. Oh my god, I just have to see her again.”
“Why, Job?”
“To say goodbye.”
“Ah, Job, Job. Lovers never meet to say goodbye.”
“We’re not……….. I just told you that.”
“How did you know you loved her?”
“Everything turned white and I heard myself talking to her. When color came back, I knew I loved her. Does that surprise you?
“No.”
“I knew it would. It surprises everyone.”

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

