A LITTLE GIRL I KNEW

A little girl I knew when I was a kid saw a movie about Rapunzel and her magnificent long hair, fine as spun gold.
The little girl’s parents had friends, Pearl and Morris, who lived on the next block. They had a daughter who was one day younger than the little girl. One day the little girl was at Pearl’s house and she asked Pearl about the thick bun of hair at the back of her head.
“My hair comes down to my back,” said Pearl. “That’s why I put it in a bun.”
“Why?”
“Because it gets in my way if I don’t.”
“How do you put it in a bun?”
“I wrap it round and round and round until it’s a bun. One day I’ll let it down for you and you’ll see how far down it comes. It’s like Rapunzel’s hair. Only my hair is black.”
“How far down does it come?”
Pearl touched the bottom of her back with her second finger.
The little girl couldn’t picture what Pearl’s black hair would look like all the way down to the bottom of her back.
One night the little girl’s mother was putting her hair up in curls and told the little girl that Pearl and Morris were coming over to visit later.
The little girl asked if she would be up.
“No, you’ll be asleep.”
“I think Pearl is pretty,” the little girl said.
“You do?” said her mother.
“Don’t tell her I told you.”
Later, when the little girl was in her crib the bell rang and she heard the sound of voices talking low.
Then her mother came into the little girl’s room. “Pearl wants to say good night to you,” she said.
Pearl came over to the little girl’s crib. Her black hair was in the bun.
“Good night, sweet girl. I think you are very pretty too.”
The next morning the little girl said to her mother, “You promised you wouldn’t tell Pearl.”
“But it made her feel so good.”
“But you promised.”
When she was 17, the little girl I knew ran for student council president and asked a classmate to vote for her.
“Why not?” he said. “You don’t squint.”
“Promise?
“Promise.”

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A LITTLE GIRL I KNEW

  1. Arnon says:

    Despite a past betrayal, a promise may still be worth extracting… it’s often broken, but sometimes kept.

    Like

Leave a Reply

