IN THE FULLNESS OF MYSTERY

When I first read this I didn’t understand much of it and was uncomfortable in the presence of its mystery. Then, after a while, I thought I understood it all and the mystery had been resolved. Then I went further on and its mystery returned. Now I am able to be in the fullness of its mystery without any reaching out for understanding.

In the beginning of beginnings was void of void, the Nameless.
And in the Nameless was the One, without body, without form.
This One – this being in whom all find power to exist –
Is the Living.
From the Living comes the Formless, the Undivided.
From the act of this Formless, comes the Existents, each according
To its inner principle. This is Form. Here body embraces and cherishes spirit.
The two work together as one, blending and manifesting their
Characters. And this is Nature.
But he who obeys Nature returns through Form and Formless
To the Living
And in the Living
Joins the unbegun Beginning.
The joining is Sameness. The sameness is Void. The void is infinite.
The bird opens its beak and sings its note
And then the beak comes together again in Silence.
So Nature and the Living meet together in Void.
Like the closing of the bird’s beak
After its song.
Heaven and earth come together in the Unbegun
And all is foolishness, all is unknown, all is like
The lights of an idiot, all is without mind.
To obey is to close the beak and fall into Unbeginning.
Chuang Tzu

 

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to IN THE FULLNESS OF MYSTERY

  1. william hecht says:

    Love this.

    Thanks

    Bill Hecht

    Like

  2. Arnon says:

    That’s a good photo of me at the Shaolin Temple.

    Like

Leave a Reply

