JEREMIAH WAS A BULL FROG

One time I was listening to “Fall Asleep And Slumber Now, Close Your Weary Eyes Softly and Peacefully,” with music by Johann Sebastian Bach and words from the Gospel of Luke. It was the day after I got back from Nova Scotia. I had attended a Society of Friends meeting for worship and sat in expectant silence for an hour.   There were about 50 congregants sitting on chairs in a circle. A latecomer appeared. Then another.  There were always latecomers. They weren’t in a hurry, never in a hurry.
The first time I delivered a message, I felt uncomfortable and tense.  I tried to decide if a spiritual prompting was arising or just some nonsense within me. I couldn’t decide and just sat there. Then I found myself on my feet speaking about coming to spiritual life late in my physical life. I felt good that I had spoken. Then it was time to go, always time to go.

On the way back from Nova Scotia we sang children’s songs in the car. I went to Nova Scotia with my first cousin and her two little children, Jeffrey and Alice. We had had a great time in Nova Scotia, playing golf, riding horses, hiking, eating, sleeping. It was good for me too because I got to spend time with my first cousin and her two young children, my first cousins once removed. They were 11-years old and 9-years old.
Time was passing very slowly and my cousin in the back and my two little cousins once removed next to me in the front sang more children’s songs.

When we crossed the Bay of Fundy, I asked my first cousins once removed what children’s song we should now sing, and maybe this time the time would go faster.  The sun was setting. It was a radiant sunset.
And the two of them began singing together so sweetly.
This was the song they sang:
Joy to the world, all the boys and girls
Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
Joy to you and me.
Jeremiah was a bullfrog
Was a good friend of mine
I never understood a single world he said
But I helped him drink his wine
And he always had some mighty fine wine
Singing joy to the world
All the boys and girls, now
Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
Joy to you and me.”

Then I looked at my little girl first cousin once removed  and I said to my little boy first cousin once removed,  “Shhh, Jeffrey, let her sing it alone. She has such a sweet voice.” Alice smiled and sang and her nostrils flared and turned pink in the radiant light of the setting sun.
“If I were the king of the world
Tell you what I’d do
I’d throw away the cars and the bars and the wars
And make sweet love to you
Sing it now
Joy to the world
All the boys and girls
Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
Joy to you and me.”

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

