FIGURE IT OUT

FIGURE IT OUT THINKERThen I sprinted towards him. Faster and faster.  I caught him in my arms and crushed him to me.
“I thought I’d never see you again!” I cried.  I lifted him high in the air and saw the sunset gleam behind a bend in the river.
“Oh!”  I cried again, “I thought I’d never see you again!”
Hand in hand we went to the train station, and on the way I tried to help him figure out why he hated America so much. America! His own country.
“Why do you hate your own country so much?” I asked him.
“Because it has over 700 military bases around the world. Five hundred and eighty in the Middle East alone. And they can obliterate the world.”
“That’s not the real reason.”
“Did you ever hear of Camp  Bondsteel?”
“You need to be more honest with yourself.”
“I knew you hadn’t.”
“And with me.”
“It’s in Serbia. It’s the biggest base in the United States empire. Almost as big as Manhattan. Nine hundred and fifty-five acres with eight-foot high concrete walls. Amazing medical facilities, two massage parlors, softball and football fields, a burger King, two chapels, day care centers, guidance counselors.”
“I went to school in Manhattan.”
“That’s how big it is. Americans don’t know about it.”
He tipped his hat back. I loved the gesture. “I will help you figure it out,” I thought to myself, “if it kills me.”
“My train is leaving soon.”
We looked at each other.
“I love the way you look at me,” I said. “I want to help you figure it out.”
He walked away from me towards the train. When he was almost there, he stopped and slowly turned to face me.
“We were not always prepared to do the things we are now prepared to do to each other,” he called to me.
“Were we ever not?” I called back, figuring it out in the sunset silence.

About judyjablow123

In my youth I was a world class tournament golfer. I earned an MA in history at NYU, after which I knew I had had enough of academia. I have remained a student of history. I have a strongly personal - almost entirely negative- take on the contemporary pharmaceutical and mental health industries. That was the impetus for my Bluepolar blog, which will also include stuff on sports, history and anything else that strikes my interest.
This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

